A confession 

Appreciation 

A few months back, my eight year old boy did his school project on ‘Helping Hands‘. He was so thrilled with the concept that everyday, he started telling me ‘new’ areas in which he could be a helping hand to others, of course in his own little way. I was feeling proud that my little boy is having learning of his life and he is loving and enjoying it until that night, when he whispered, “mamma, you are very kind. You are a great help”. He slept then. 

I could barely sleep that night. What have I done in my life? Did my child make a sarcastic remark on me? Had I helped anyone? I could not remember a single instance. I had always been engrossed in my work. So selfish. Except for doing some household work, MY household work, I had never thought of being a help to anyone. I had done nothing for a social cause. No NGOs. Never adopted any pet. People are doing so much for girl education, old people, health, environment, there’s so much to do in this world. What I had done so far? Nothing. Oh, really, nothing, nothing for the society. My child had shook my conscience. I was feeling like a culprit. Actually, it must have been always there somewhere inside me. But I had been ignoring it. And now my child’s statement churned my thoughts and the guilt came out. 

With heavy heart and mild headache,I started MY work, the usual morning chores, the next day. I prepared breakfast. Kids woke up at usual time. I was standing with a glass of milk beside their bed, it was MY usual work, as they have a habit of drinking milk, the first thing in the morning. That morning, I was feeling ashamed of not doing even my usual work properly. I should have inculcated the habit of drinking water as the first thing in the morning, but I could not even do this simple task, how can I be of any help to the society? 

My child, at first did not notice anything unusual, I thought so. But, after getting ready for the school, at the breakfast table he enquired about my dull mood. I tried to give arbitrary answer that he did not understand. He just said, “Mamma.Visit a doctor if you are not feeling well. I need your help in all my things. Otherwise, I would not be able to do this week’s Helping Hand work in my school’s cleanliness drive”.  THAT felt nice. 

Actually, now I think that I was looking for some kind of appreciation for what I’m doing. We all want acceptance, or better, appreciation. Everyone looks for it.  Humility and modesty is okay but still, we always love to be appreciated. That gives us a sense of being important even if it’s for one person or for one cause. This would, in turn boosts our morale and we continue to be a good human being. If appreciation would not be required, there would be no awards, trophies or any other kind of recognition given to anyone. 

I got appreciation from my little one. But still, helping society in some way is there in my mind and if given right opportunity at right time I would love to work for some good cause. We all, should. 

Leave a Reply

